18.05.2018 | The Institute of World Economy and Policy held a session on Astana Club within the framework of the Global Challenges Summit 2018 (Astana Economic Forum)

May 17, 2018 in Astana on the platform of the Astana Economic Forum, the Institute of World Economy and Policy (IWEP) at the Foundation of the First President of the Republic of Kazakhstan – Elbasy held the session «ASTANA CLUB» –  «Will Big Eurasia? In search of answers to the critical challenges of geo-economics»

Today, within the framework of the Global Challenges Summit 2018 (Astana Economic Forum), the IWEP held a session «ASTANA CLUB» dedicated to the analysis of challenges and prospects for the development of Big Eurasia in the context of linking economic megaprojects – «the Belt and the Path» initiative and the Eurasian Economic Union.

More than 60 leading experts on Eurasia’s geo-economics from China, Russia, the USA, France and Great Britain, as well as representatives of Kazakhstan’s research institutes, think tanks and universities took part in it.

The key speakers of the discussion were well-known experts in the world scientific and expert community: the director of the Oxford Center for Byzantine Studies and the author of the bestseller «Silk Roads. New World History» (Great Britain) Peter Francopan, Minister for Integration and Macroeconomics of EEC (Russia) Tatyana Valova, Professor of the School of International and Public Relations at Shanghai University of International Studies Yang Cheng, Reconnecting Asia Project Director Jonathan Hillman, Chairman of Institut Choiseul (France) Pascal Loro.

The experts discussed a number of specific problematic aspects related to the further development of Big Eurasia against the backdrop of the growing global geopolitical tensions around Russia and Iran, which carry a number of critical challenges. It was about strengthening trade and sanctions wars, interstate and regional conflicts and other barriers.

The main question that the participants of this panel session tried to answer was: «Is there a common future for our megacontinent or do we expect a conflict of different models?».

According to Yerzhan Saltybayev, director of the Institute for Strategic Studies, IWEP, today major infrastructure projects, new international institutions, and the increasing interconnection between countries allow us to look with optimism at the future of the megacontinent. However, it is important to understand and outline the contours along which the system of international relations and economic cooperation between countries will develop.

– Big Eurasia is a key element of the global geo-economic and geopolitical reality of the modern world. Within the framework of the «Astana Club», in which leading trendsetters of the global expert community and the world political elite participate annually, we analyze the issues of the development of the modern world and the current problems existing in the space of Big Eurasia. Today, in preparation for the fourth meeting, scheduled for November, we are conducting some kind of an interim analysis based on the observed trends», E. Saltybayev stressed.

According to him, the risks of further fragmentation of the world economy are still high.

– To date, we are witnessing a new wave of sanctions confrontation around Russia and Iran, trade and currency wars, creating additional barriers to trade. However, protectionism and sanctions are a dead-end way. It is important to understand that economic globalization and expansion of world economic ties are objective. Therefore, it is difficult to overestimate the role of the two largest economic projects – «the Belt and the Path» initiative and the Eurasian Economic Union. On their basis, the rapprochement of economies and mutually beneficial strengthening of trade ties in Eurasia should take place in the future», Saltybayev said.

During the discussion, foreign experts from China, France, Russia, the United Kingdom and the United States presented their forecasts on the prospects for the formation of a common economic space, future vectors of cooperation and rivalry in Big Eurasia.

At the same time, the discussion showed that Russian, Chinese and European representatives have their own vision of many aspects of the emerging formats of trade and economic relations and the development of transport and infrastructure projects in Eurasia and the world as a whole.

Thus, the geo-economic format of the future continent, causes serious controversy. However, as all participants of the panel discussion noted, Kazakhstan, being in the very center of Big Eurasia, has the potential to become a point of assembly of the entire matrix.

Representatives of the IWEP informed that discussions on these issues will continue in November this year at the fourth meeting of the «Astana Club» with the wide participation of leading experts, politicians and diplomats from more than 20 countries.

Поделиться:

18.05.2018 | Институт Мировой экономики и политики провел сессию по Astana Club в рамках программы Global Challenges Summit 2018 (Astana Economic Forum)

17 мая 2018 года в Астане на платформе Астанинского экономического форума Институт мировой экономики и политики (ИМЭП) при Фонде Первого Президента РК – Елбасы провел сессию «АСТАНА КЛУБА» – «Состоится ли Большая Евразия? В поисках ответов на критические вызовы геоэкономики»

Сегодня в рамках программы Global Challenges Summit 2018 (Astana Economic Forum) ИМЭП провел сессию «АСТАНА КЛУБА», посвященную анализу вызовов и перспектив развития Большой Евразии в контексте сопряжения экономических мегапроектов – инициативы «Пояс и путь» и Евразийского экономического союза.

Участие в ней приняли более 60 ведущих экспертов по геоэкономике Евразии из Китая, России, США, Франции и Великобритании, а также представители казахстанских научно-исследовательских институтов, аналитических центров и вузов.

Ключевыми спикерами дискуссии выступили известные в мировом научно-экспертном сообществе специалисты: директор Оксфордского центра византийских исследований и автор бестселлера «Шёлковые пути. Новая история мира» (Великобритания) Питер Франкопан, министр по интеграции и макроэкономике ЕЭК (Россия) Татьяна Валовая, профессор Школы международных и общественных отношений при Университете международных исследований Шанхая (КНР) Ян Чэн, директор проекта Reconnecting Asia Project (США) Джонатан Хиллман, председатель Institut Choiseul (Франция) Паскаль Лоро.

Эксперты обсудили ряд конкретных проблемных аспектов, касающихся дальнейшего развития Большой Евразии на фоне нарастания глобальной геополитической напряженности вокруг России, Ирана, которые несут в себе ряд критических вызовов. Речь шла об усилении торговых и санкционных войн, межгосударственных и региональных конфликтах и других барьерах.

Главным вопросом, на который попытались ответить участники данной панельной сессии звучал так: «Есть ли общее будущее у нашего мегаконтинента или нас ожидает конфликт разных моделей?».

По мнению директора ИМЭП Ержана Салтыбаева, сегодня крупные инфраструктурные проекты, новые международные институты, а также повышение взаимосвязанности между странами позволяют с оптимизмом смотреть на будущее мегаконтинента. Однако важно понимать и очертить контуры, по которым будет складываться система международных отношений и экономического сотрудничества между странами.

– Большая Евразия – это ключевой элемент глобальной геоэкономической и геополитической реальности современного мира. В рамках работы «Астана Клуба», в котором ежегодно принимают участие ведущие трендсеттеры глобального экспертного сообщества и мировой политической элиты, мы анализируем вопросы развития современного мира и актуальные проблемы, существующие на пространстве Большой Евразии. Сегодня в рамках подготовки к четвертому заседанию, запланированному на ноябрь, мы проводим своего рода промежуточный анализ исходя из наблюдаемых трендов, — подчеркнул Е.Салтыбаев.

По его словам, риски дальнейшей фрагментации мировой экономики все еще остаются высокими.

– На сегодняшний день мы становимся свидетелями новой волны санкционного противостояния вокруг России и Ирана, торговых и валютных войн, создающих дополнительные барьеры для торговли. Однако протекционизм и санкции – это тупиковый путь. Важно понимать, что экономическая глобализация и расширение мировых хозяйственных связей носит объективный характер. Поэтому сложно переоценить роль двух крупнейших экономических проектов – инициативы «Пояс и путь» и ЕАЭС. На их основе в дальнейшем должно произойти сближение экономик и взаимовыгодное укрепление торговых связей в Евразии, — отметил Е.Салтыбаев.

В ходе дискуссии зарубежные эксперты из Китая, Франции, России, Великобритании и США представили свои прогнозы относительно перспектив формирования общего экономического пространства, будущих векторов сотрудничества и соперничества в Большой Евразии.

При этом состоявшееся обсуждение показало, что у российских, китайских и европейских представителей свое видение на многие аспекты возникающих форматов торгово-экономических отношений и развития транспортно-инфраструктурных проектов в Евразии и мире в целом.

Таким образом, геоэкономический формат будущего континента, вызывает серьезные споры. Однако, как отметили все участники панельной дискуссии, именно Казахстан, находясь в самом центре Большой Евразии, имеет потенциал стать точкой сборки всей матрицы.

Как сообщили представители ИМЭП, дискуссии по данным вопросам продолжатся в ноябре этого года на четвертом заседании «Астана Клуба» при широком участии ведущих экспертов, политиков и дипломатов из более 20 стран мира.

Поделиться: